Why I'll always love TWA

In 1970 I was 20 years old and returning from Vietnam. I had been humping a ruck for 13 months and 9 days up in I Corps in the Khe Sahn Mountains, An Hoa River Basin/Arizona Valley, etc. and was feeling pretty sorry for myself. I walked up to the ticket desk at the airport in San Francisco and got my boarding pass from a young man not much older than me. After he handed me my boarding pass ( I was flying military reserve which means if they have a seat you get one, if they don't then tough enchalada, you wait for the next flight ) he took a second look and said, "Are you heading home from Nam"? I said, "Yes sir". He then took a look at his manifest and said, "I need your boarding pass back". I would have cried, but the rule is Marines don't cry so I handed him back my pass. I knew I was being kicked off the flight. I couldn't speak so I just stood there waiting while he scribbled some code on my pass and handed it back to me. Then he smiled and said, "Have a nice flight". I didn't understand what he had done so I just said "Thank you, sir." and headed for the gate. When we were called to board the beautiful old 707 I walked in the line through first class and started through the curtains to the cheap seats. You had to show your boarding pass to the stewardess ( who were all young and beautiful back in those days ) at that point and she stopped me. I thought, "Damn, what is it now? Are they still going to throw me off"? Before I could say anything she smiled and said, "Oh your seat is up here Marine". I said, "No maam, I'm flying military reserve". She said, "Well, I don't know about that but your boarding pass says you are flying 1st Class, so pick a seat". As I realized what the ticket agent had done I got a lump in my throat and wished I had known so I could have thanked him properly, but I remembered the rule and just sat down.