Mandatory replacement of hoses - Saratoga II TC

I have 1999 Saratoga II TC and have been told by my AMO that all the hoses have a 20 Year Manufactures Life Limit and there 21 hoses to be replaced now at parts cost $7,489.00! Apparently they are teflon coated and cannot be made up locally. I have 1400 hours on the plane which has always been hangared and the hoses are in perfectly good condition. Am I bene sold a story here? Does anyone have experience of this situation?

Comments

• I would think that if you aren’t flying your plane for hire, they wouldn’t be mandatory to replace unless there was an AD on them. I’m not an expert, but I don’t know why it would be any different than the TBO on your engine.

Jim M.
    PA-28R-200
    Based at BUU
    ATC Chicago TRACON

• My guess is, like Jim above, that under Part 91 they have no life limit. Stand by while I send this to our A&P, Erich Rempert.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• If I am wrong I will apologize, but right now I smell snake oil. I am in the Part 91 no life limited parts or mandatory replacement required other than an AD camp.

• That's quite a price tag for hoses. Fortunately I can get hoses made up here locally in the Phoenix area. When is your engine due an overhaul? Most people replace the hoses when the engine is off for overhaul. Much easier! Fuel and hydraulic hoses do require an A&P sign off. Unless you have a leak or something, I'd plan on hose replacement at engine overhaul.
    Austin

• Here's a response from our A&P Erich Rempert on the hose issue: