PA28R-200 Barn Find

Here are a couple photos of my new Arrow. It hasn’t flown since 1997 until yesterday. So far it has 4 new Lycoming Cylinders installed by my IA in the barn, a new vacuum pump, new mechanical fuel pump, new electric fuel pump, new batteries, and new tires. It is now in annual and airworthy but there is still a lot of work to be done on the panel.

Comments

• Looks fabulous!!! Congrats. :) Is there anything I can do to help?

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Probably a lot, I’m fairly new to airplane ownership. I bought my 172 last November. It’s up foe sale now. The big thing I’m wrestling with at the moment is what to do for radios and nav. I’m leaning heavily to the GNX375 but that cuts significantly into my remaining budget. All the little stuff on the plane that’s been sitting for so long is starting to add up, not surprising.

So to answer your question, I’m sure there is lots you can help with, I’m just not sure what 😎
  • That's a very good radio...

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!

• edited November 2020
    Packman; first of all, beautiful plane and awesome that you're getting her airworthy!

My tip: separate your needs vs wants to meet your budget. If you want the GNX375, but you have working KX155's or even a working 170, you can fly with what you have, and upgrade later.

After a full rebuild on my plane (new interior, new engine, ok it was new everything), I was out of money, so the paint job had to wait 7 years. I caught a lot of flak from my buddies about my "ugly duckling" during that time, especially since I used to do paint work, but the good news is the FAA has no regulations stating your airplane must be pretty.