AV-30C or GI 275

Howdy Piper fans,
BLUF: Will AV-30C be supporting CDI for IFR any time soon? Any updated Direct comparison of AV-30C vs. GI-275?
I am replacing my vacuum AI on my 1969 PA28-140, and have read a lot about the AV-40C. Many of the articles are 2020 or older. I am a VFR pilot and will begin IFR training soon with intention on only doing occasional light IFR. I’d like to keep my round gages on current panel so G5 is not an option. Question 1: what AV-30C updates can I expect from Uavionix for IFR flying in the future or should I bite the bullet and go with GI-275?
Question 2: Now that many have been flying with the AV-30C for a while, any updated PIREPS or recommendations?
Thanks in Advance, happy holidays and happy flying.

Rick

Comments

• I think you should go with the GI-275. I am not convinced the AV-30C will ever be ready for IFR without a hardware update.

Eric Panning
    1981 Seneca III
    Hillsboro, OR (KHIO)

• Hi Ricardo, I'm on a first name basis with Shane Woodson, head of sales at uAvionix. He told me that the the AV-30C will be upgraded and will be IFR legal for GPS coupled approaches sometime in 2022. Check my article in Piper's magazine, October issue. I believe that information which came directly from Shane is accurate. Frankly, I would wait before purchasing one until this upgrade is made.

• Thanks Bob, I will wait on the AV-30 upgrade and hope 2022 brings some pleasant surprises.

• I have decided to wait as well. I keep waiting for someone to post if the heading drift is really fixed, but I cannot find anyone to post the results from a real world test. Using the GPS output for IFR is also important to me, so I will see what 2022 brings.

• The GI-275 is awesome but it is full of fancy features I won't use so I went with the G5. The GI-275 can run your piper auto control if you have one though so if you want to keep a legacy autopilot the 275 is almost a must have.

Dan
    1969 Arrow 28R-200
    Herky bird pilot by day