Why the Piper Arrow?

Hi Scott:

I am new to PiperOwner.org. A friend of mine forwarded a copy of the October issue of Pipers Magazine that I immediately read cover to cover which prompted me to join up. As a 1978 piper Warrior II owner, the cover story and your article “Anatomy of an Airplane Trade” particularly grabbed my attention.

I earned my private license in high school and stopped flying just after college. Fast forward 34 years with kids grown up I wanted to get back into flying. I have had a great time and only wished that I started back into aviation so much sooner. My mission profile is typically 300NM trips or less within Texas or to adjacent states. However, I do see that extending when I become instrument rated. Most of my cross-country flying is solo or with one other person leaving plenty of useful load for fuel and baggage. While I love the Warrior, I know that it is not my forever plane. I bought it to get back into flying and my other two partners are in the mix to get their PPL license. Eventually I want something faster and IFR capable with a budget in the $90-100K maximum range.

I noted from your article that this is your 8th aircraft and that your flight experience spans everything from the Cherokee 140 through mid-sized business jets. I assume in the middle of those two extremes you have flown a lot of complex singles. I would wager that you have some Comanche, Bonanza & Mooney time in there somewhere. These aircraft plus the Piper Arrow III always come up on my short list when considering what is next. With 50 years of flight experience under your belt and all the market alternatives available, I am really interested in how and why you chose the Arrow. Additionally, I would welcome and appreciate comments from other forum members as well.

Thanks in advance!

Chris Hodde
N47673

Comments

• I can’t speak for Scott, although he has a sweet Turbo Arrow.