Tachometer

Hello folks, had my tach become erratic the other day on a short flight. RPMS were back and forth with little or no power changes, it seemed better when taxing back to the hanger. Just wondering if anyone else has had similar issue? 1967 PA-28. Thanks

Comments

• Hi, I'm assuming it's an old style tach. There are two causes: one, a bad tach cable. It's probably original and ready to be replaced. Two, your tach could be originial and ready for overhaul or replacement. Don't replace either with the same technology. If you need a tach, get this. I had two for 15 years and they're awesome and totally accurate. https://buy-ei.com/portfolio/r-1/

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Thanks Scott!

• Hi Billy,

I have had some experience with the mechanical tach in the Cherokee. Mine was never intermittent but when I installed a factory zero time engine, I sent the tach out for overhaul and calibration. I also wanted the red RPM restriction indicated on the tach removed as the new engine had a solid crank and no RPM restriction. Because it was the original tach and had a crimped on case, the shop would not overhaul it! So my only option was a replacement.

Mitchell tachometer was the recommended replacement. They would also preset the tach time to match the original tach.

So I asked Mitchell directly in a phone call what model they would recommend for my aircraft make, model and serial number and then placed the order. As I recall, the tach with custom preset hours was under $300. So far, so good.

After flying with the new tach, which, by the way, did not look as "cool" as the original, it was apparent that it was racking up tach time WAY to quickly!