1970 Piper PA-28-140

I'm a student pilot and I bought the plane to learn how to fly. I joined the forum a while back, but I've been waiting for a nice to day to clean her up. I washed her and waxed the fuselage today. I still need to do the wings.

Comments

• Z, perfect first buy flyer! Congrats.

carl

48 yrs A/P IA DAL aircraft inspector. 172N

• Fantastic! That plane is hot in more ways than one! ;) My first plane was a cherokee 180. I had my PPL already but flew it for my IFR rating. A great airframe and the 28 series are really honest fliers.

Welcome to the group! Keep us updated on your flying journey too. There are probably many people following along considering similar that would benefit from your insight and experiences as a student owner.

Eric Panning
    1981 Seneca III
    Hillsboro, OR (KHIO)

• Beautiful plane! Hope you enjoy many hours in it. The PA 28 line is a very solid design.

Keep us posted on your progress and come here to the forum with questions, whether flying, maintenance, instrumentation, insurance, troubleshooting, etc. Lots of very knowledgeable folks here. Welcome to the group!

Jim "Doc Griff" Griffin
    PA28 - 161
    Chicago area

• Hi Z,

Welcome and Congratulations on your new airplane, she’s beautiful!

When I saw the pictures you posted, it caught my attention! I believe I flew your airplane WAY back in the 1970-1973 time frame!

The FAA Registration information that I see online does not go back that far, but I think I recognize your N number, color and paint scheme from airplanes I flew at a Piper Dealer and Flight School in Elgin Illinois back when I was in High School working at that airport and learning how to fly!

It seems Piper musta blocked a bunch of N numbers ending in “U” around that time as I recall several of our airplanes ending in “U”. The airplane I Soloed in was named “N5516U”, a sister ship of yours!