Piper 28 Series door seals

Aircraft Spruce sells door seals for the PA28 that attach either to the fuselage, or a special order unit that attaches to the door, as it came originally from the factory. The latter is more expensive. Does anybody know if they are equally effective in controlling water leaks around the door? Thank you for the input.
Dave at Blue Flight

Comments

• jdbowman wrote:
    Aircraft Spruce sells door seals for the PA28 that attach either to the fuselage, or a special order unit that attaches to the door, as it came originally from the factory. The latter is more expensive. Does anybody know if they are equally effective in controlling water leaks around the door? Thank you for the input.
    Dave at Blue Flight
  • Most PA28s leak around the door no matter what you do. They also leak around windows too. All the water ends up on the carpet so you do not know where it comes from.
  • Hello Flyguydon
    I am new to this plane (Piper Archer) but was told that I needed to get the leaks “under control” because of the impact on the avionics. From what you said, it seems that it is just something to tolerate? True?
    Thanks
    Blue Flight
  • Whatever you decide I would strongly discourage the airframe seals. I tried them once and they are easily damaged during entry and egress thru the cabin door. Also found they were not very effective.
  • I second what Jim Wells said. I have the airframe seal which was damaged almost immediately as a result of getting in and out of the plane.
  • Thanks to Jim Wells and Wake8825 for the feedback. I had not considered the possibility of their being vulnerable to damage. Will go with the door mounted seal.
    Blue Flight
  • The constanat wet carpet is the main reason I bought a fuselage cover. It really helps.