avionics upgrade

mini_01102012-1217_photo.JPGHey guys, just bought my first plane, a 68 180. I am a vfr pilot and plan to get my instrument ticket in her. The auto pilot is a Century 2000 and it has manual trim. Thinking of upgrading to a 430w or? or is it a waste given whats there?

Comments

• It would be a good idea.
  • I figured, anyone have a line on a nice preowned 430w perhaps?
  • You can get good used ones from reliable sources on eBay.
  • And excuse my ignorance but with a 430 and the current auto pilot what will I be able to do or not that I may need to further upgrade?
  • There's nothing wrong with your stack.
    Get your IFR with what you have. Fly, get some hours and then you will know what to get.
  • Can someone really tell me what I have, What I can do and what I could do with a 430?
  • Your picture is not of such a resolution that I can get a real good look at it... but it looks like you have basically dual NAV/COMs and as such can do precision and non-precision approaches, follow VOR signals and airways... and that is it.

All a WAAS GPS would do for you is allow you to have better situational awareness, do GPS and LNAV approaches, and go "direct to". Many smaller airports do not have an ILS so a GPS approach is a nice tool to have in your pocket. Otherwise, you can get a nice 396, 496 or whatever portable GPS and have the situational awareness part for 1000 bucks or less.
  • It does have a Garmin 155 TSO but not a CDI linked to it.
  • Try http://avionicslist.com/ for a list of used avionics from multiple sources including Ebay. I did not find sufficient savings by going with a used 430w plus installion over a new one. You can save a little by getting a used Garmin indicator. Also consider adding a GPSS converter to your autopilot especially if you will be flying IFR in the future. I have an STEC-20 and the STEC GPSS but the Century should work just as well with a GPSS.