Newbie here, bought a 1965 Piper 235, looking for advice

13»

Comments

• I've had a '68 PA28-235C for about 12-years with the mogas STC. I was lucky the last 5-years that mogas was available at the home airport...prior to that I would get it where ever I could...the biggest issue with using 100LL was fouling spark plugs...they would foul buy the time I taxied to the runway. If your flying long cross countries and have to use 100LL, be sure to lean even on the ground taxiing.

• Thanks for your comments :)

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• After a hiatus due to Covid, I started taking a few lessons again and I soloed last Saturday! It went pretty smoothly. It's quite a thrill realizing it was up to me to get it back on the ground.
    I also got my high performance endorsement. I'm not sure I would do my training in a Piper 235 with constant speed prop if I had to do it over again, but it is done now. Well, this stage of training anyway.

Lurch59

• edited February 2021

Lurch59;

Congrats on your solo! As long as you live, that flight will be etched into your memory. The first thing I noticed was how fast the plane climbed with only one person, and how responsive it felt on the controls.

When you landed, did your instructor cut the tail off your shirt? Spray you with beer or champagne? Make you buy him/her a bottle of their favorite libation?

I had my shirt tail cut off by my instructor, and it's signed, dated, and includes the plane type, airport and tail number. That scrap of my shirt is framed and proudly displayed in my home.

You'll never forget your first solo. Congrats again!

Jim "Doc Griff" Griffin
    PA28 - 161
    Chicago area

• Roger that! Congrats on surviving, lol. Now it's on to the next goal. A Cessna Citation? :)

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!