Calling all Lance owners

I'm new to the Piper Owner Society (not an actual owner yet, but hopefully soon). I'm a PP with 210 hrs. mostly in PA28A's and R's. I have HP (C182) and Complex (PA28R) endorsements and I'm currently studying for my instrument written exam. After renting planes for 2+ years and fighting the commitment phobia of aircraft ownership, my wife and I have finally decided that we want to purchase a plane. We live in Charleston SC and we want a plane for long XC's (Texas, Indiana, Illinois, Seattle, New England, Bahamas, Grand Cayman) and our budget is ~$150,000. We have been looking mostly at the Piper Lance and the Bonanza F33. I'm leaning toward the Lance because I love the size & comfort of the plane (almost like a mini-airliner), I'm partial to Piper airplanes because most of my time has been in Pipers, and, although it's not the fastest plane out there it still holds it own in the speed category, IMO. Also, the CG issue in the Bonanza's concerns me a little for long XC's.

I'm currently looking at conventional-tail NA Lance's, although I would love to hear feedback on the T-tail. Is the T-tail really an issue? I see a lot of them for sale on Controller and Trade-A-Plane. I would love to hear any feedback from current owners on their experience flying, owning and maintaining the Lance. Does it require transition training like a Bonanza or Mooney? Can you recommend an A&P/IA in the SC area (or anywhere) that specializes in Lance's (for maintenance & potential upgrades but most importantly for pre-buy inspection)? Are there any Lance owners in the Charleston SC area that would be open to showing me their plane? Thanks!

Ryan Bliss
603.521.4736 Mobile
ryanbliss@rocketmail.com

Comments

• Hi Ryan - welcome! Whatever you buy, you and your wife are sure to enjoy it, and all the places it will take you.