New Member: Patrick; 1966 Cherokee 180 (PHJR)

Aloha everyone! I recently took the leap and purchased a '66 Cherokee 180 here in Hawaii. I've been flying around the islands for a couple years now and finally decided to try going the ownership route. I did most of my primary training in PA-28s so it felt like coming home. Definitely shows some wear but flies great. Fortunately, we don't really have to worry about long-distance or bad weather flying. :)

I normally fly out of Kalaeloa on Oahu but the pictures are after ferrying to Honolulu for annual and transponder replacement. I don't have pictures yet but for anyone looking to replace their seats, I highly recommend sportaircraftseats.com. Their replacement seats are extremely comfortable and super easy to install.

Comments

• Hi Pat and welcome aboard! When you get a moment or two, post some pics of your flights around Hawaii! :)

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Scott,

I'm usually too preoccupied with driving the bus but a passenger did snag this one on the Napali coast of Kauai. The helicopter tours there are absolutely out of this world.

The halfway point from Oahu is about about 35 NM from land in either direction. The first time I flew over in a 172, both islands were obscured by clouds, so it was nothing but clouds and water in all directions. It was one of the most surreal flying experiences I've had. I got my instrument rating shortly thereafter.

• stallfp;

Welcome! Nice airplane!

Jim "Doc Griff" Griffin
    PA28 - 161
    Chicago area

• edited December 2020

OH Wow! Thanks for posting the pic. Awesome!

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!