Hello from Cardiff in the UK

I've been flying for 5 years mainly in Piper PA28s, been lucky to fly in quite a few European countries and even managed to fly a Warrior from the UK to Russia with a few fuel stops in between. This is my own PA28, a 1980 Archer 181 which I had fully refurbished in 2019, looking forward to visiting Europe this summer.

Comments

• Wow! Fantastic plane and panel! In 2003 I was on assignment to Oxford and flew out of Enstone and the Enstone flying club for fun (Diamond Elcipse). I had my first grass landing at Sandown on the Isle of Wight.

Eric Panning
    1981 Seneca III
    Hillsboro, OR (KHIO)

• Me too! WOW!! What a beautiful paint job as well as interior!!

Jim Torley
    CFI-A/I/G
    1969 Arrow 200
    Based at KFLY (Colorado Springs, CO)

• Wow! Beautiful airplane and panel!

Jim "Doc Griff" Griffin
    PA28 - 161
    Chicago area

• That is a beautiful looking PA28. What type of holder are you using for the iPad?

Did you fit a larger engine? I noticed you have the three bladed prop and RPM controller.

Thanks.

• Thank you for the comments on the paint job and panel, many say I’m mad doing this to a 181 but for me the fun is flying and not how fast I fly. The iPad is fitted using a guardian iPad mini mount. I’ve tried a yoke mounted iPad but found it too distracting. The engine is a standard 181, again the electrically variable prop was a gamble but I do think it was worthwhile. It’s the only one in the UK with this prop and had to have it’s own STC.

• Mark, do you see better than book climb and cruise speeds with the electric prop? Do you set pitch with it (climb/cruise settings) or does it hold rpm like a hydraulic prop?

Eric Panning
    1981 Seneca III
    Hillsboro, OR (KHIO)