Proper leaning

So I know this is a "hot topic" like politics. I am looking for some good insights.

How do you guys like to run your engines? I am an airline pilot, so by that, I really don't like doing things against the manufacturers way of doing things. With that in mind, my 1978 Arrow 3 POH states to run at peak for best economy and peak plus 100 for best power. This of course goes against what Mike B. likes to preach.

My question is, do you trust some new technology and new ideas, or do you continue to run the way the book says too even though the book was written 50 years ago?

Thanks.

slo

Comments

• edited July 2022

I go with Mike B's philosophy as he appears to come from an engineering perspective based on review of data. Naturally though, the final mixture depends on equipment installed. To the core question, Yes, I am trusting the new technology installed in the current plane and adjusting to data supported practices as opined by Mike B. Am also submitting data collected by the tech and am getting good feedback from independent reviews.

When in a more rustic cockpit with limited instrumentation, I leaned to peak RPMs. That engine lived a good long life. Put another way, stayed within the POH as that plane had original equipment and no modern tech.

I know of one organization which went off-script from the POHs and preached to lean to a hard-number EGT no matter what altitude, temperature, density, or power setting. That engine management was a sore topic as the engine repeatedly fell well short of TBO. Yet, the head honcho of the group wanted to stick with the set temperature and ignored the aircraft / engine manufacturer POHs. Head honcho did not want to pay for the early overhauls either, and the expense was forced on others. Put another way, that plane had original equipment, POHs were ignored, and things did not go well.