Time Before Next Step

Evening folks, newbie here to the forum.

Got my Private in February of this year.

Picked up a '66 Cherokee VI-260 in December (N3763W) and have ~40 hours in it. ~3200 TT, ~400 SMOH, ~200 prop, passed wing spar AD.

Panel was original, so it's currently with Signature Aircraft completions at KMQS (home base) getting a GX3 Touch, G5 backup, GFC500, dual GTN650xi panel upgrade.

Have ASEL IFR check ride on 10/3, and have 150 hours total flight time.

Primary mission is personal/family trips within 1000 miles (wife and 3 kids) and also 4 gents + clubs for golf trips which is pushing the useful load limit.

Here's my question for you all. Eventually I'd like to upgrade to either PA46 turbo prop or a light twin with some better useful load and speed.

What's the GA feel/recommendation on how much experience I should have before I can SAFLEY/practically make this move? 300 hours? 500? more?

lmk if you want more info.

Comments

• Intelligent question. Having owned four twins and four singles, my first effort would be to contact my insurance agent and ask him. The cost of insurance and even the ability to get it might be a major factor. Other than that, I'd say 500 hours. You'll need complex, high performance, high altitude training and experience.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• edited September 2022

There are two questions in play and will position that they are only semi-related.