Observations with a carbon monoxide detector

I got a carbon monoxide detector after hearing Max Trescott’s podcast on the subject. I shared it with my students too and almost all of us bought one. I’ve been using it for nearly six months now and I wanted to share and compare with others experiences.

1. I never see zero. Well, if I turn it on outside, but it is never zero in a running plane. I’ve gotten it down to low single digits but not zero. The highest readings come from idling on the ground when not moving.

2. I can tell when I have leaned or not. Leaning does some to lower the value. Whether airborne or on the ground.

3. Retiming my mags lowered the value. The values were getting too high on the ground. I had the exhaust inspected the same time I had the mag retimed and the timing advance turned on my Surefly mag. It lowered my values to an average inline with the other airplanes I fly.

4. I see about 12-24 ppm while on the ground and taxiing. It will drop to 1-10 ppm while in cruise flight and leaned. When my mag was out of time, I would see up to 60ppm while idling on the ground.

What do you guys see?

Paul

1963 Cherokee 180 B.

Comments

• Hi Paul,
    I just had a Guardian Aero 455 combination CO detector / pulse oximeter installed in my Arrow and connected to my JPI EDM-830 engine monitor for display and scanning. They are finishing it and I should be able to fly with it this week sometime. I'll let you know what I see. ... I agree on having one and Guardian makes excellent products. I'm mounted mine in the lower left hand corner with a Century autopilot would normally go. I had a Guardian USB power port installed at the same time and location so I could run a short wire to my Ipad.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!