New PA31-310 Member - NavajoArch

I have been working on N911SD since June of 2019 and she is now a real star. This is my second Navajo and my 7th Piper starting with a 1967 C-180 and moving up through the entire line to my present 1973 PA31-310. Unfortunately, the insurance companies are giving me a hard time since I turned 73 even though I have 500+ hours of Navajo time. I probably have to sell my sweetheart and step back down the ladder. Is anyone else having insurance company issues
Pictures attached.

Is anyone else having insurance company problems?

Comments

• What a fantastic airplane.... and yes, everyone I know that's 70 or over is having this problem. I have no idea what to do about it other than shop around.

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• Thanks Scott. Nice to know I am not alone. They really should look at the person and their capabilities rather than lump us all into a category.

• Yes, that's the way I feel, too. I'm going to go through this next year... :)

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!

• I'm 72 and my insurance company warned me of this last year. Some of the recommendations they had was to fly as much as possible, do continuing education courses (many are available on line at FAA.gov), and participate in a wings program. One other recommendation was to find a good insurance company and stick with them instead of changing every few years. I did read and article that mentioned AVEMCO values long term customers and their rate increases have not been as bad as some companies.

• Thanks for your comments, Bud.

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!

• Great looking aircraft!