What Constitutes "Rough Air"?

As we returned to our home airport on Saturday in very choppy air, I found it hard to keep my 180C at or below the 129 mph "rough air or maneuvering speed" limit without sitting squarely in the prohibited 2150 to 2350 rpm zone. I am a relatively low-hour pilot with little experience in turbulent conditions, so I'm not sure I know exactly what constitutes "rough air". Other pireps from the area that day reported light to moderate turbulence at our altitude. The ride was certainly bumpy, but articles weren't flying around the cabin, and we weren't banging our heads on the roof. Thoughts/tips?

Comments

• Sac Arrow: The plane is placarded, per the AFM: "Rough Air or Maneuvering Speed 129 mph." Thank you for the reference to the AIM. I'll check that out. It appears I may still have the challenge of finding an acceptable airspeed outside the 2150-2350 rpm limitation in "true" rough air.
  • Chop is not a problem. Green arc and all is good.

Let's put it into perspective. Anything that is bad enough for you to need to slow down for fear of the plane coming apart is not something you'd fly in for very long. Sure, briefly over a mountain wave... or intermittent deflections... But again, anything bad enough to have to slow down for is not something you'd fly in longer than to find a place to get down.

Continual hitting of your head on the ceiling is an indication of being close to this level. As Sac suggested... if you still have positive control you are probably not quite there. Deflections that make it obvious that "it" is beginning to take control and you might consider slowing her down for the ride.
  • flyguydon Wrote:
    > As Sac suggested... if you still have positive
    > control you are probably not quite there.