Cherokee 235, 6-300, or a turbo arrow

I'm a low time VFR pilot working on an instrument rating. I Recently sold my cherokee 140/160. I live in east TX and I have a place in Anglefire NM, (KAXX).
I'm shopping for a new plane. Most of my trips will be to angelfire, which is at 8300ft so these are the options I have thought of. The Turbo arrow seems most practical at that altitude but from what I have read the engine needs a lot of attention while flying T/O and landing. Sounds like this plane could be a handful on an instrument approach. Supposedly 10500ft will clear the mountains to get into angelfire. I have flown my cherokee to Raton ,NM but didnt try angelfire since I was close to gross.

90% of the time there will be ~600lbs of people and stuff. I'm trying to stay ~$60000 or less.
I'm looking for suggestions any help apprecitiated
Many thanks Dylan

Comments

• After talking to 3 different mountain flying cfi's they all said Cherokee 235 or cessna 182. There is almost always a crosswind at angelfire so I'm shopping for a 235. Which will save me money on insurance.
  • I have a Turbo-Arrow. Bought it with about 200hrs in my logbook. The airplane is a Cherokee so it's easy to fly and does a good job on instrument approaches.

It has all the Knots-2-U speed mods and will fly 149KTAS on 12.8gph at 10,000 and 159KTAS at 15,000.

It accelerates and climbs like you'd expect from a turbocharged airplane.

The useful load is 1084lb.

The engine does not take exceptional skill or attention to operate. Don't over-boost. Gentle throttle movements to adjust power (a good technique for any engine but a really good idea with this one). Drop the power in increments on descent to manage cooling. I drop 2" per minute. Let the engine run for 3-5 minutes after touchdown to keep oil flowing while the turbo cools down. That usually means just a minute or two after reaching your parking spot. None of this is rocket science and it's second nature very quickly.