Seeking advice- Lance vs Saratoga

Hello everyone! New here, so I hope I'm not asking something that's already been asked, or asking it in the wrong area. I'm not new to aviation, but I'm pretty new to fixed wing and civilian aviation. I'm hoping to purchase my own plane in the near future and have spent a few months trying to narrow down what I want, why I want it, what would best fit my needs/wants, and what I can realistically afford. In my research, I've absolutely fallen in love with the PA-32 Lance/Saratoga SP for a number of reasons. I haven't noticed too many significant differences between the models aside from the wing redesign and Trade-A-Plane's basic performance difference claim (157 knots vs 137 knots, for the Lance and Saratoga respectively). I'm wondering first, if that's an accurate spread between the two, then second, more broadly, if anyone might be able to give me a ballpark per-hour cost of ownership (minus the initial purchase cost) of the planes, some comparison between the two, and maybe some suggestions on which you might recommend more, and why. Literally any guidance anyone might be able to offer would be super helpful, and if you're there and willing, I'd LOVE to pick the brains of a few owners. Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Welcome Steve, I have a Seneca III which has a club seating layout almost identical to most of the Lance/Saratoga's.
    One question on operating cost is your flying background. If you don't have significant High performance + retract time it will be expensive. Maybe 5 figures expensive.

Aside from insurance there is also annuals, oil, fuel, engine reserves, etc. Maybe $45k to overhaul an engine. Inspection cost is around $2-3k? Likely annual cost including findings is 5 to 10k additional, especially on first annuals.