Newbie here, bought a 1965 Piper 235, looking for advice

Comments

• Well, I do have a Corvette I could give you a ride in, but it only has one carburetor......

Lurch59

• Too funny! I have a 1994 C3 white corvette in the hangar. It's coming home tomorrow after a cold winter. :)

Scott Sherer
    Wright Brothers Master Pilot, FAA Commercial Pilot
    Aviation Director, Piper Owner Society Forum Moderator and Pipers Author.

Need help? Let me know!

• The A&P response above is a brilliantly concise review of LOP. The difference in cylinders on the leaning curve is the main issue trying to run LOP and why it may not be possible. Adding partial carb heat may help to even out the cylinders by changing how the air is flowing but not a guarantee. I don’t want to encourage everyone with a carburetor to run LOP but if you have a good engine monitor and can see everything the engine is doing then you can determine if it’s possible. The person I bought my 1968 235 only ran ROP and at the last annual had a bit of carbon build up in a few cylinders losing some compression. So you have to choose what you think is best for your engine. As long as my engine runs smoothly and CHTs are low and consistent then I’m happy running LOP. I’ll let you know at my next annual or sooner if any problems arise.
  • Thanks for the follow up message above. I've sent a copy of your message to our A&P and I'm sure he'll appreciate it. Much thanks.

Scott Sherer

Need help? Let me know!